skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:

Napier's electoral wardsNgā rohe pōti o Ahuriri

Napier is broken up into four election wards: Ahuriri, Onekawa-Tamatea, Nelson Park and Taradale. Want to find out what ward you’re in? Simply enter your address or valuation number below to find out the ward you’re in and where you’re eligible to vote.

Our wards

Following our 2017-18 Representation Review, NCC moved to a full ward system in 2019. That means our 12 councillors are elected from four wards - Ahuriri, Nelson Park, Onekawa-Tamatea and Taradale. Wards work much the same way as seats in a general election, but with an important exception. While you can only vote for candidates in your ward, all Napierites directly vote for Mayor.

NCC Rep Review 2017 18


Find your ward

To find out what ward you're in, enter your address into our database.

Interested in learning more about your ward?

View more information on your ward including special characteristics, facts and figures, and community funding allocations. The ward profiles also lists key projects currently underway, recently completed, or planned for the future.

Election Wards

Want to know the geographic extent of your ward? You'll find it described below.

Generally - comprises the northern part of the city encompassing Bay View, Westshore, Ahuriri, the Port, Bluff Hill, Hospital Hill and the northern part of Onekawa West.

Specifically - follows the city boundary from the north around the coast to Emerson Street where it follows the road centre line through Emerson, to Carlyle Street, to Hyderabad Road (SH2), including Taradale Road (Pettigrew Corner) from the railway crossing on Taradale Road, to Prebensen Drive, leaving Prebensen past Severn Street and following the embankment around the Thames and Severn Streets' industrial area, joining with the main trunk line and following the trunk line to the Ahuriri estuary bridge. The boundary then follows the Ahuriri estuary outlet channel to the end of Watchman Road and cuts back to follow the City Council boundary with Hastings District Council along the northern city boundary to the coast.

Generally - comprises Napier South, Onekawa South, Maraenui, areas of Pirimai and Marewa south of Kennedy Road, and the northern most part of Awatoto.

Specifically - covers the area from the corner of Georges Drive and Carlyle Street, east along Carlyle Street and Emerson Street, south along the coastline to north of 136A Te Awa Avenue, north along Te Awa Avenue to the west of the property boundaries, along the southern boundary of Napier Boy's High School, south along Willowbank Road to east of 120 Geddis Avenue, south along the eastern property boundaries of Masefield Avenue, to the end of Masefield Avenue, west along the ends of Masefield Avenue, Mason Avenue, Moore Avenue and Hurst Avenue, along the south-western boundary of Richmond School, across to Riverbend Road, across Riverbend Road along the southern boundary of Maraenui Park, along Waterworth Avenue, south behind the eastern properties of Bennett Place, along the eastern property boundaries of Henley Crescent, west along the southern boundaries of Henley Crescent properties, along the southern edge of Harold Holt Avenue, through the Expressway, through the Tait Drive, Clement Place walkway, along the northern boundary of the reserve to the Kennedy Road, Taradale Road roundabout, north through the centre of Kennedy Road to Georges Drive, west along Georges Drive to the Carlyle Street intersection.

Generally - comprises Onekawa Central and West, Tamatea, and parts of Pirimai and Marewa north of Kennedy Road.

Specifically - covers the area from the southern end of the Ahuriri estuary rail bridge, south along the boundary of the Thames - Severn industrial area, along Prebensen Drive, to Taradale Road, excluding Pettigrew's Corner, north through Taradale Road, to Hyderabad Road, east down Hyderabad Road to Georges Drive, south down Georges Drive, following Georges Drive to Kennedy Road, south down Kennedy Road, following Kennedy Road to the roundabout with Taradale Road, along the northern and western boundaries of Anderson Park to Westminster Avenue, along Westminster to the Tamatea Drive, Westminster Avenue roundabout, where the boundary then follows the western side of Purimu drain north to the Ahuriri outlet channel, and across to the rail bridge.

Generally - comprises Taradale, Greenmeadows, Poraiti, Meeanee and Awatoto (excluding the northernmost part).

Specifically - runs along the coastline south of 136B Te Awa Avenue, following the city's coastal boundary to the Tutaekuri River. The ward boundary follows the city boundary west up the Tutaekuri River channel, along the city boundary north to Watchman Road, then following the Ahuriri estuary outlet channel to the Ahuriri estuary rail bridge, following the rail bridge to south of the estuary, then west to west of the Pirimu drain, following the drain to Westminster Avenue, following Westminster Avenue to York Avenue, following York Avenue north to Freyberg Avenue, following east along Freyberg Avenue to Islington Place, along the boundary of Anderson Park to the Kennedy Road and Taradale Road roundabout, east through the roundabout, along the north boundary of the reserves, east through Tait Drive walkway, east across Atherfold Crescent, the Expressway, to the road reserve parallel to Harold Holt Avenue, east along the boundaries of Henley Crescent, north along the boundaries of Henley Crescent to Waterworth Avenue, where the boundary travels east along Waterworth Avenue, along the south boundary of Maraenui Park, to Riverbend Road, around the north boundary of the Samoan Assembly of God, along the western boundary of Richmond School, along the ends of Hurst Avenue, Moore Avenue, Mason Avenue and Masefield Avenue, north along the eastern boundary of Masefield Avenue properties, along Willowbank Road to the southern boundary of Napier Boy's High School, around the southern boundary of Napier Boy's High School, south along the west boundary of Te Awa Avenue properties and along Te Awa Avenue to south of 136B Te Awa Avenue.

Election Wards Location Map


Property information online is a summary of digital resource and building consent information captured in our corporate databases since 1992 for Resource Consents, and 2000 for Building Consents. The information is limited to generic consent information captured as part of the process. Completed documentation is held within the property file held at the Council. The information provided should be used as a guide only.


Napier City Council - Copyright © 2024 Napier City Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 /