skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:


Citizens' Civic AwardsNgā Tohu Kirirarau

NCC's Citizens' Civic Awards are awarded each year to Napier citizens who have donated considerable time and energy to voluntary services within Napier communities. Two current Napier citizens need to make each nomination.

Civic Awards

Citizens names that have been awarded a Citizen Civic Award.In 1977 NCC introduced the Citizens' Civic Awards to recognise members of the Napier community who have given much of their time to voluntary service of particular merit. 

Nominations for the Citizens' Civic Awards are called for annually.

The Awards are held in early September every year where those selected are honoured by the Mayor at a formal ceremony to which friends and family are invited.

What things do we look for?

To qualify, recipients must have performed exceptional voluntary service to the Napier community. Also worth noting:

  • Ideally they will have volunteered over a number of years, although there is no formal length of time required.
  • Work done as part of their paid job will not be recognised.
  • Any nominations not successful in any one year may be re-nominated in the following year or years.
  • Nominations submitted in prior years are not automatically carried forward.
  • Current Napier City councillors are not eligible for an award. Former councillors who continue to carry out exceptional volunteer work once leaving NCC can be considered for a Citizens' Civic Award.
  • Those people who have received higher national honours also qualify to receive a Citizens' Civic Awards from the city.

How do we choose our Civic Award winners?

  • The nomination of someone for an award must be supported by two members of the Napier community.
  • A panel of three elected members chosen by the Mayor at the start of each year reviews the nominations and makes a recommendation to Council on who should win. Council must then consider the recommendation and make a decision.
  • There is no minimum or maximum number of awards that can be allocated each year: this is at the discretion of the selection panel and Council. 

Keen to nominate someone for this year’s awards? 

Nominations for the 2019 Awards are open from Monday 27 May until midday on Thursday 27 June. You can nominate someone online, or download the nomination form from the 'Related documents' button at the top of this page.

Hard copy forms are also available at our Customer Service Centre (215 Hastings St) and at Napier Libraries.


If you have questions about the awards and the nomination process, please contact the NCC Governance team at




Napier City Council - Copyright © 2020 Napier City Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 /