skip to main content skip to main menu

About Council
~ Te kaunihera


Civic Awards

Citizens names that have been awarded a Citizen Civic Award.In 1977 Council introduced the Citizens' Civic Awards to give some recognition to the citizens of Napier who give much of their time in performing voluntary service of particular merit.

The qualifying criteria are:

  • Recipients must have performed exceptional voluntary service to the Napier community.
  • The nominations are to be made by any two citizens.
  • Any nominations not successful in any one year may be re-nominated in the following year or years.
  • Nominations submitted in prior years are not automatically carried forward.
  • There is no restriction placed on the length of service in any category.
  • Current Napier City Councillors are not eligible for an award. Former Councillors who continue to carry out exceptional volunteer work once leaving Council can be considered for a Citizens Civic Award.
  • Those people who have received higher national honours also qualify to receive a Citizens' Civic Awards from the city.
  • Nominations for the Citizens' Civic Awards are called for annually.
  • A panel comprising of the Mayor or his/her representative, two Councillors and the Chairperson of the Maori Consultative Committee or his/her nominee selects from the public nominations.
  • The Selection Panel, on consideration of the nominations, will decide on the number of awarsd.
  • The awards are distributed at an appropriate civic function where a badge and a certificate are presented.

Council provides the following awards to recognise citizens for special contributions to the community.

Freedom of the City

This is Council's top honour and since its inception has been awarded to:

  • Sir P Tait
  • Sir L Harris
  • Mr H R Holt
  • Mr A W Miller
  • Mr E R Spriggs
  • Mr C M Jeffery
  • Sir I Axford
  • Sir R H Pettigrew

Citizens Civic Awards

Civic Awards are made each year for voluntary service to the community.

Awards for 2016 were granted to:

  • Mr John Lawrence Cocking
  • Mr Matiu Nohokau Eru
  • Mr Harry Findlay
  • Mr Selwyn Hawthorne
  • Mrs Penny Madden
  • Mr Michael Madden
  • Mrs Christine Packer
  • Mrs Anne Reese
  • Mrs Erica Toomey
  • Mr Anthony Wilson

Awards for 2015 were granted to:

  • Mrs Jill McConnochie
  • Mrs Carol Dacey
  • Ms Zita Smith

Awards for 2014 were granted to:

  • Mr Peter Selwyn Ball
  • Mrs Denise Coulam
  • Mrs Chieko Dietz
  • Mrs Margaret McKibbon
  • Mrs Kathleen Maxine Alison Meek

Awards for 2013 were granted to:

  • Mr Earle Denford
  • Mr Selwyn Dyet
  • Mr Richard Edmunds
  • Mrs Sandy Ibbotson
  • Mrs Madge James
  • Mr Eric Lamb

 Awards for 2012 were granted to:

  • Mrs Catharina McNaughton
  • Mrs Isabel Morgan
  • Mr Ivan Young

Civic Award for Meritorious Contribution to the Community

This Special Civic Award is presented for meritorious contribution to the community. It provides for persons who do not qualify for the Civic Award.

The following awards have been granted since its inception:

  • Mr L Duckworth
  • Mr J White
  • Mr L Gray
  • Justice Lester Chisholm
  • Dr Gerald Lewis
  • Mr Ron Ward
  • Mr Neville Smith
  • Mr Pat Benson

Civic Award for Competitive and Sporting Excellence

This award is given to recognise significant sporting, cultural and other competitive success by Napier citizens or locally based teams.

The following awards have been granted since its inception:

  • Blue Water Napier City Rovers - In recognition of the double victory in the National Club Championships and the Chatham Cup.

Related Documents

There are no documents related to this page.

Related Pages

There are no pages related to this page.

5 page views for the last 30 days

Share this page
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Share by Email

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Napier City Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 / Fax: +64 6 835 7574