skip to main content skip to main menu

~ Kōwhiringa pōti

tick elections

Napier City Council Local Body Elections

The local authority elections are held every three years, and give you the chance to vote for the Mayor, local council, and District Health Board. The last election was held on 8 October 2016 and the next election will be held on 8 October 2019.

View the final results here.

The final nominations for Napier City Council 2016 Triennial Elections are:

Position Name Email
Mayor (1 vacancy) Bill Dalton
Ahuriri Ward (1 vacancy) Larry Dallimore (Independent)
  David George
  Mark Herbert (Independent)
Onekawa-Tamatea Ward (1 vacancy) Annette Brosnan (Working for us)
Nelson Park Ward (2 vacancies) Maxine Boag (Working Together)
  Mark Hamilton
  Grant Hammond (Independent)
  Api Tapine (Working Together)
Taradale Ward (2 vacancies) Graeme K Taylor (Independent)
  David Trim
  Tania Wright (Independent)
Council at Large (6 vacancies) Steve Gibson
  Martin Good
  Claire Hague
  David Hannay (Forward Together)
  Tony Jeffery
  Richard McGrath
  Maryanne Marsters
  Andy Mason (Representing Napier's Youth)
  Keith Price (Independent)
  Michelle Pyke (Independent)
  Faye White
  Kirsten Wise (Independent)

 For information about each candidate and voting go to the Candidate Information Booklet.

Mayor Bill Dalton has been elected unopposed and Councillor Annette Brosnan is unopposed for the Onekawa-Tamatea Ward.

The Election timetable is listed below.

Election Day - voting closes at 12 noon.
Preliminary results announced.
Saturday 8 October
Declaration and Public notice of results Between 13 - 19 October
Return of election expenses and donations forms By Wednesday 14 December

Special Voting

Special Votes are available to electors:

  • whose names do not appear on the Final Electoral Roll, but who qualify as electors, ie the elector has enrolled after the closing of the roll
  • who did not receive a voting paper previously posted to them
  • who spoil or damage a voting paper previously posted to them
  • who are on the unpublished roll

Special Votes can be posted directly out to electors. Requests for the voting papers can be made at Napier City Council. The completed voting papers however, must be returned to the Electoral Officer in the envelope supplied.

Special Votes require the completion of a statutory declaration. This is a legal requirement and a protection for electors against possible duplicate voting.

If an elector requests a Special Vote and is not on the Parliamentary Roll (e.g. just turned 18 years of age), the person must enrol at any Post Shop during normal business hours. Special Vote Declarations are forwarded to Registrars of Electors for verification that the elector is eligible and has enrolled as a Parliamentary elector.

NOTE: Special Votes cannot be collected by candidates or their assistants for distribution to electors.

Related Pages

There are no pages related to this page.

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the Napier City Council information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 / Fax: +64 6 835 7574