skip to main content

I want to...

Current filter:


Earthquake Memorial

The Earthquake Memorial in Park Island Cemetery.This solemn and poignant memorial is located in Park Island Cemetery. The memorial area contains the remains of people who perished in the Hawke's Bay Earthquake of February 3 1931.

The tablets on the memorial record the names of 86 of those interred in the mass grave as well as the names of 23 others buried elsewhere in the cemetery.

The memorial was designed by prominent Napier architect J. A. Louis Hay.


Their sun is gone down while it was yet day.

Ashwell, Cecil
Atkinson, Thomas Henry
Berry, Myra George
Barrett, Sarah Naomi
Bartlett, Mary Hodge
Basher, Reginald George
Bennet, Mary Leah
Bickerstaff, Louisa Maude
Bisson, Anna
Blackburn, Mary Ann
Bonner, Alfred John
Boyd, Francis Mary
+ Boyd,
+ Brandon, Eileen Mary
Brown, Gilbert
+ Bryson, Jane
+ Bryson,Ruth
Burrow, Clarice Margaret
Cameron, William
Canham, John Eugene
Colton, Edward
Cuddihy, Michael
Davidson, John Stewart
Dennett, George Frederick
+ Dennett, Herbert Arthur
Dwyer, John
Ellis, Ada Mima
Ellison, Stanley George
Eltridge, Martha Ann
+ Evers-Swindell, Arthur Wilfred Denys
+ Evans, David
Fraser, James Douglas
Freedman, Derek
Frew, Elizabeth Anna
Gannaway, Norman Baxter & baby
Goldfinch, Leonard Henry
Grant, Frederick James
Greatbatch, Thomas Eli
Hansen, Edward
Harrison, Valentine Joseph
Haines, Jane
Heath, Clifford James Colvin
+ Hindmarsh, Sheila Westwood
Insull, Marjorie Helen
+ Johnson, William George
Johnson, Crawford Benjamin
Johnson, Jack William
Johnstone, Bridget Mary
Keddle, Joan Grace
Key, Elsie Gertrude
+ Kitching, Thomas Henry
+ Knott, Geoffrey Cole
Kyle, Leo Alphonso
Lenihan, Mary Josephine
Leverett, Rose Eileen
Lunn, Walter George
MacArthur, Frederick Campbell
MacLean, Dorothy
McCarthy, Joseph Henry
McKee, Molly
McKenzie, John
Meek, Thomas
+ Menzies, Myra
Mitchell, Ruth
+ Mitchell, Harry
Ogden, Henry
Pearson, Kathleen Irene
Plank, George
Pointon, Edwin Arthur
Rae, John
Redwood, Cecily Teresa
Reid, George
Rhodes, Lloyd
+ Robertson, Raymond, Claude
Rodgers, Helen
Rolls, Grace Ellen
+ Rood, Phyllis Mary
Ryan, Thomas Michael
Saunders, James
Scott, Flora
+ Shirley, John Stanley
Skelton, Minnie May
Skinner, Charles
Smith, Ellen
Smith, Louis Ormond
Stead, Irvine Thomas
Stone, Lucy Mildred
Stevens, John Ascott
Stewart, Daniel
+ Sims, Percy Reginald
+ Staines, Winifred Fena
+ Taggart, William Thomas Andrew
Taylor, Joyce Elizabeth
Thompson, Frances Jane
Thorne George, Nancie
Venables, Stanley George
Voice, Ellen
Walker, Alexander Graeme
+ Walker, Samuel
Watson, Andrew
Watson, John Henry
+ Webster, Francis Henry
Wells, Emily Elizabeth Edith
Williams, Eileen May
+ Williams, Kaye
+ Williamson, Reginald James
Wilson, Arthur
Wood, Sybil Florence
Wright, Percy

14 Unidentified Remains

+ The names with crosses are those of earthquake victims not buried in community grave.

Earthquake Memorial images

Earthquake Memorial Location Map

Park Island Cemetery, Clyde Jeffery Drive, Park Island.


Napier City Council - Copyright © 2019 Napier City Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Napier City Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Napier City Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Napier City Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Napier City Council - / +64 6 835 7579 /